CAIN Web Service

Assembly By-election(NI)
Thursday 17 October 1985

[Key_Events] [KEY_ISSUES] [Conflict_Background]
POLITICS: [Menu] [Reading] [Articles] [Government] [Political_Initiatives] [Political_Solutions] [Parties] [ELECTIONS] [Sources] [Peace_Process]

Text and Research: Fionnuala McKenna
Material is added to this site on a regular basis - information on this page may change

Assembly By-election(NI)
Thursday 17 October 1985

This is a draft (v1) of the results of the 1985 Northern Ireland Assembly By-election.


The following provides the results of the Northern Ireland Assembly by-election held in the constituency of South Down on Thursday 17 October 1985. This seat had previously been held by Raymond McCullough (UUP) who died in June 1985. The voting in this election was by means of 'proportional representation'.

Summary of Results

Quota: 10,184
Electorate: 98,126
Percentage turnout: 21.3

First Count:
Party Candidates
First Preference Votes
Donaldson, J. (Ulster Unionist Party)
Smyth, Mrs. E. (United Ulster Loyalist)

Donaldson (Ulster Unionist Party) was elected on the first count.

CAIN contains information and source material on the conflict and politics in Northern Ireland.
CAIN is based within Ulster University.

go to the top of this page go to the top of this page
Last modified :