CAIN Web Service

Assembly By-election (NI)
Wednesday 20 April 1983

[Key_Events] [KEY_ISSUES] [Conflict_Background]
POLITICS: [Menu] [Reading] [Articles] [Government] [Political_Initiatives] [Political_Solutions] [Parties] [ELECTIONS] [Sources] [Peace_Process]

Text and Research: Fionnuala McKenna
Material is added to this site on a regular basis - information on this page may change

Assembly By-election (NI)
Wednesday 20 April 1983

This is a draft (v1) of the results of the 1983 Northern Ireland Assembly By-election.


The following provides the results of the Northern Ireland Assembly by-election held in the constituency of Armagh on Wednesday 20 April 1983. This seat had previously been held by Seamus Mallon of the SDLP but he was disqualified from the Assembly on the grounds that he was also an Irish Senator at the time of his election in October 1982. The voting in this election was by means of 'proportional representation'.

Summary of Results

Quota: 15,914
Electorate: 95,100
Percentage turnout: 34.07

First Count:

Party Candidates
First Preference Votes
Speers, J. (Ulster Unionist Party)
French, T. (Workers Party)

Speers (Ulster Unionist Party) was elected on the first count.

CAIN contains information and source material on the conflict and politics in Northern Ireland.
CAIN is based within Ulster University.

go to the top of this page go to the top of this page
Last modified :