CAIN Web Service

2001 Westminster Election - List of Candidates

[Key_Events] [KEY_ISSUES] [Conflict_Background]
POLITICS: [Menu] [Reading] [Articles] [Government] [Political_Initiatives] [Political_Solutions] [Parties] [Elections] [Polls] [Sources] [Peace_Process]

Research and Text: Martin Melaugh
Material is added to this site on a regular basis - information on this page may change

The following is the list of candidates standing in the 2001 Westminster General Election in the 18 constituencies of Northern Ireland. The name of the 'sitting' Member of Parliament (MP) is indicated in bold text. See also the results of the 1997 Westminster election and the details of the 18 constituencies.

East Antrim
Roy Beggs (Ulster Unionist Party)
Janette Graffin (Sinn Féin)
Alan Greer (Conservative Party)
Robert Mason (Independent)
John Matthews (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Danny O'Connor (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Sammy Wilson (Democratic Unionist Party)

North Antrim
Jayne Dunlop (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Sean Farren (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
John Kelly (Sinn Féin)
Ian Paisley (Democratic Unionist Party)
Lexie Scott (Ulster Unionist Party)

South Antrim
Norman Boyd (NIUP)
David Burnside (Ulster Unionist Party)
David Ford (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Willie McCrea (Democratic Unionist Party)
Sean McKee (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Martin Meehan (Sinn Féin)

Belfast East
David Alderdice (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Joseph Bell (Workers Party)
Terry Dick (Conservative Party)
David Ervine (Progressive Unionist Party)
Ciara Farren (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Tim Lemon (Ulster Unionist Party)
Joseph Gerard O'Donnell (Sinn Féin)
Peter Robinson (Democratic Unionist Party)
Rainbow George Weiss (Vote For Yourself)

Belfast North
Marcella Delaney (Workers Party)
Nigel Dodds (Democratic Unionist Party)
Gerry Kelly (Sinn Féin)
Alban Maginness (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Cecil Walker (Ulster Unionist Party)
Rainbow George Weiss (Vote For Yourself)

Belfast South
Patrick Joseph Lynch (Workers Party)
Alex Maskey (Sinn Féin)
Alasdair McDonnell (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Monica McWilliams (Northern Ireland Women's Coalition)
Dawn Purvis (Progressive Unionist Party)
Geraldine Rice (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Martin Smyth (Ulster Unionist Party)
Rainbow George Weiss (Vote For Yourself)

Belfast West
Gerry Adams (Sinn Féin)
Alex Attwood (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
David Kerr (Ulster Third Way)
John Lowry (Workers Party)
Chris McGimpsey (Ulster Unionist Party)
Eric Smyth (Democratic Unionist Party)
Rainbow George Weiss (Vote for Yourself)

North Down
Chris Carter (Ulster Independent Voice)
Marietta Farrell (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Sylvia Hermon (Ulster Unionist Party)
Robert McCartney (United Kingdom Unionist Party)
Eamon McConvey (Sinn Féin)
Julian Robertson (Conservative Party)

South Down
Betty Campbell (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Eddie McGrady (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Mick Murphy (Sinn Féin)
Dermot Nesbitt (Ulster Unionist Party)
Jim Wells (Democratic Unionist Party)

Fermanagh South Tyrone
James Cooper (Ulster Unionist Party)
Jim Dixon (Independent unionist)
Tommy Gallagher (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Michelle Gildernew (Sinn Féin)
[Ken Maginnis (Ulster Unionist Party) - retiring MP]

Colm Cavanagh (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Andrew Davidson (Ulster Unionist Party)
William Hay (Democratic Unionist Party)
John Hume (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Mitchel McLaughlin (Sinn Féin)

Lagan Valley
Paul Butler (Sinn Féin)
Seamus Close (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Jeffrey Donaldson (Ulster Unionist Party)
Patricia Lewsley (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Edwin Poots (Democratic Unionist Party)

East Londonderry
Yvonne Boyle (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
Francie Brolly (Sinn Féin)
Gregory Campbell (Democratic Unionist Party)
John Dallat (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Willie Ross (Ulster Unionist Party)

Mid Ulster
Francie Donnelly (Workers Party)
Eilish Haughey (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Ian McCrea (Democratic Unionist Party)
Martin McGuinness (Sinn Féin)

Newry And Armagh
Paul Berry (Democratic Unionist Party)
Seamus Mallon (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Sylvia McRoberts (Ulster Unionist Party)
Conor Murphy (Sinn Féin)

Liam Johnson (Sinn Féin)
Danny McCarthy (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Kieran McCarthy (Alliance Party of Northern Ireland)
David McNarry (Ulster Unionist Party)
Iris Robinson (Democratic Unionist Party)
Cedric Wilson (Northern Ireland Unionist Party)
[John Taylor (Ulster Unionist Party) - retiring MP]

West Tyrone
Pat Doherty (Sinn Féin)
Brid Rodgers (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Willie Thompson (Ulster Unionist Party)

Upper Bann
Tom French (Workers Party)
Dolores Kelly (Social Democratic and Labour Party)
Dara O'Hagan (Sinn Féin)
Patrick Roche (Northern Ireland Unionist Party)
David Simpson (Democratic Unionist Party)
David Trimble (Ulster Unionist Party)

CAIN contains information and source material on the conflict and politics in Northern Ireland.
CAIN is based within Ulster University.

go to the top of this page go to the top of this page
Last modified :