CAIN logo
CAIN Web Service

Details of the Members of the Civic Forum

[Key_Events] [KEY_ISSUES] [Conflict_Background]
POLITICS: [Menu] [Reading] [Articles] [GOVERNMENT] [Political_Initiatives] [Political_Solutions] [Parties] [Elections] [Sources] [Peace_Process]

Page Compiled: Martin Melaugh
Material is added to this site on a regular basis - information on this page may change

Devolved Government in Northern Ireland
Secretary Assembly Executive Departments Committees North- South British- Irish Conference Civic Forum

The Civic Forum

Details of the Members of the Civic Forum 2000-2002

The follow is a list of the people appointed to the Civic Forum in October 2000. The Civic Forum met on twelve occasions in a plenary format from 9 October 2000 until 14 October 2002 when devolution in Northern Ireland was suspended. As with the other devolved institutions the Civic Forum was subsequently mothballed.

Sector Nominations Background
Agriculture & Fisheries 1. Alan McCulla Chief Executive Anglo-North Irish Fish Producers Organisation
2. Aidan McNamee JP Member of Ulster Farmers Union Council
3. To be appointed
Arts and Sport 1. Elizabeth Bicker Freelance musician; Chair of Belfast Music Society
2. Gordon Woods Until recently Course Director in Art and Design Education at UUC, Painter and Sculptor
3. Dawson Stelfox Architect with Consarc Design Group; Mountaineer
4. Jim McKeever Former Gaelic Footballer; retired Head of Physical Education at St Mary's College; Member of Sports Council.
Business 1. Frank Bryan Deputy President of Belfast Junior Chamber of Commerce; Managing Director of Bryan Powercom Ltd.
2. Peter Donaldson Managing Director of Kilco Group
3. Clare Gibson Former Managing Director of Abbey Training Services.
4. Bryan Johnston Chairman of the NI Post Office Board.
5. Patrick Mahony Board Director of BWD Rensburg
6. Gwen Savage Retired Managing Director of Gwen Savage and Company Ltd
7. Colin Shillington CBE, JP Partner in Solutions Together and Director General of NI Hotels Federation
Churches 1. Daphne Gilmour Elder and Session Clerk of Presbyterian Church. Principal Examiner 'A' Level Religious Studies NICCEA
2. George Glenn Chief Executive of Churches in Co-operation
3. Eileen Gallagher Head of Religious Studies at St Michael's College, Enniskillen
4. Louise Warde-Hunter Director of Belfast Common Purpose
5. Pastor David McConaghie Elim Minister; founder member of Caleb Foundation
Community Relations 1. Roisin McGlone Director of Springfield Inter Community Development Project
2. David Porter Director of Evangelical Contribution on Northern Ireland (ECONI)
Culture 1. Doug Elliot Managing Director of 4 companies, including Ormeau Gasworks Limited. Member of Ulster-Scots Heritage Council
2. David White Tutor and Trainer specialising in cultural diversity and race awareness
3. Gordon Lucy Director of the Ulster Society
4. Donncha MacNiallais Manager of An Gaeláras, Irish language resource centre
Education 1. Carmel McKinney Principal of Vere Foster Primary School, Member of Belfast Education and Library Board
2. Jeannette Chapman Education Adviser, Council for Catholic Maintained Schools
Trade Union 1. Pauline Buchanan Chairperson of the NI Committee ICTU
2. Inez McCormack Regional Secretary of UNISON and President of ICTU
3. Richard Jay Senior Lecturer in Politics, QUB
4. Keith Cradden Past President of NIPSA; member of Derry District Partnership Board
5. Susan Bustard Active in Irish Bank Officials Association
6. Kevin Cooper Member of National Examination Council of the NUJ; freelance Press photographer
7. Mick O'Reilly Regional Secretary of ATGWU
Victims 1. Alan McBride Youth Worker, WAVE Trauma Centre
2. Patricia MacBride Manager of the Bloody Sunday Centre
Voluntary & Community 1. Paddy Joe McClean Member of Age Concern's Northern Ireland Executive and Chair of Western Forum
2. Eamonn Keenan Training and Research Officer in NIACRO
3. Avril Watson Board Member of Triangle Housing Association, Director of Law Centre NI
4. Kevin McLaughlin Regional Development Manager for Leonard Cheshire
5. Patrick Yu Executive Director of Northern Ireland Council for Ethnic Minorities
6. Kevin Daly Chairman of Mid-Ulster Carers Group; member of NI Committee of the Carers National Association
7. Avery Bowser Child Witness Development Officer, NSPCC
8. Brian Dougherty Development Officer for Tullyally & District Development Group
9. Ryan Williams Development Co-ordinator, Irvinestown Community Partnership
10. Eithne McNulty Co-ordinator of Women's Education Programme for the Workers Educational Association
11. James Orr Employed by Wildfowl and Wetlands Trust, Castle Espie
12. Duane Farrell North South Officer with Youth Net and the National Youth Council of Ireland promoting rights of lesbian, gay and bisexual people
13. Annabel Weldon Director of Money and Relationship Counselling (MARC)
14. Brian Symington Director of the Royal National Institute for the Deaf
15. Janet Muller Director of POBAL
16. Josephine Whatmough Recently retired adviser to National Trust on nature conservation
17. Emma McDowell Member of NI Committee of the Carers National Association and Secretary of Belfast branch.
18. Lynn Carvill Co-ordinator of the Organisation of the Unemployed: Northern Ireland
First Minister 1. Gary McMichael Leader of Ulster Democratic Party
2. Betty McClurg Chairperson of Southern Education & Library Board
3. Richard Monteith Solicitor; prominent member of Orange Institution
Deputy First Minister 1. Brian O'Reilly Regional President of Society of St Vincent de Paul
2. Sharon Haughey Student at University of Ulster
3. Hugh Frazer Director of the Combat Poverty Agency, Dublin


CAIN contains information and source material on the conflict and politics in Northern Ireland.
CAIN is based within Ulster University.

go to the top of this page go to the top of this page
ARK logo
Last modified :