

# An Chartlann Náisiúnta National Archives

**Reference Code:** 2016/52/51

Creation Dates: 16 March 1986

Extent and medium: 3 pages

**Creator(s):** Department of the Taoiseach

Accession Conditions: Open

Copyright: National Archives, Ireland. May only be

reproduced with the written permission of the

Director of the National Archives.

EMBARGO 12 noon, Sunday, 16 March

## FRIENDS OF IRELAND ST PATRICK'S DAY STATEMENT MARCH 17 1986

Irish Americans and indeed all Americans have a special reason to commemorate this St Patrick's Day. After 17 years of strife and turmoil in Northern Ireland, there is real hope that a lasting and just peace may finally be achieved.

Over the past year we have witnessed substantial progress toward our long-standing hope to achieve reconciliation between the conflicting traditions of Northern Ireland and to establish democratic political structures which will accommodate both sides of the community.

As Friends of Ireland in the Congress, we endorsed the principles of the New Ireland Forum Report of 1984 for a negotiated settlement to the crisis in Northern Ireland. We commend all those whose courage and commitment to peace and reconciliation culminated in the signing of the historic Anglo-Irish Agreement last November at Hillsborough in Northern Ireland by Prime Minister Garret FitzGerald of Ireland and Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher of Great Britain.

We welcome this agreement as a long overdue step toward full recognition of the rights of both traditions in Northern Ireland and as a hopeful opportunity to end the violence and political and economic instability that has cost over 2,500 lives and wreaked havoc on the region's economy in the past two decades. The agreement rejects violence as a means of achieving political ends and commits both the Irish and British governments to an ongoing process to achieve peace and stability in Northern Ireland.

The Friends of Ireland welcome the inclusion in the accord of an unprecedented role for the Irish Government in the day to day affairs of Northern Ireland. We believe that this provision offers reasonable and needed reassurance to the minority Catholic community that its legitimate rights and interests, particularly in relation to the administration of justice, will be clearly recognized and fully protected.

The United States has a long and close relationship with both Britain and Ireland and can play an important role in helping these two friends achieve peace in Northern Ireland. We welcome President Reagan's support for the accord and his proposal for U.S. financial assistance to Northern Ireland, and we urge the Congress to act favorably and expeditiously on legislation to provide such assistance.

Finally, we renew our condemnation of those in Northern Ireland -- and in the United States -- who advocate, support, or engage in violence in any form or by any means.

On this St. Patrick's Day, we again express our commitment to the great goal of Irish unity, achieved by peaceful methods, and we pledge in the coming year to continue our efforts for peace and reconciliation, and for a new Ireland free from violence, intolerance, and discrimination. The events of 1985 laid a workable foundation for peace and a durable settlement of the conflict in Northern Ireland, and we urge all sides to build on that foundation in 1986.

#### UNITED STATES SENATE

UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Edward M. Kennedy
Daniel P. Moynihan
Max S. Baucus
Joseph R. Biden
Jeff Bingaman
Thomas F. Eagleton
Alan J. Dixon
Christopher J. Dodd
John F. Kerry
Paul Laxalt
Patrick Leahy
Carl M. Levin
Howard M. Metzenbaum
William Proxmire
Donald W. Riegle
Paul Simon
Pete Wilson
Robert T. Stafford
Orrin G. Hatch
John Glenn
Albert Gore
David Durenberger

Alfonse D'Amato

Lowell P. Weicker

Thomas P. O'Neill, Jr. Jim Wright Thomas Foley Edward Boland Joseph McDade Brian Donnelly Peter Kostmeyer Bill Lowery Lane Evans Frank Annunzio Henry Nowak Tony Coelho Robert Mrazek Frank McCloskey Nick Rahall William Coyne Thomas Downey Edward Madigan William Hughes Marjorie Holt . John Miller Rod Chandler Frederick Boucher Bill Ford Tom Daschle Parren Mitchell

Charles Hayes Bill Clay

### UNITED STATES HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Ron de Lugo Thomas Carper Robert Matsui Grank Guarini John La Falce Joseph Kolter Howard Berman Henry Waxman Carroll Hubbard Harold Ford Gary Ackerman Walter Fauntroy Neil Smith Thomas Petri Don Bonker Jan Meyers Roy Dyson Matthew Martinez Bill Green William Lehman Frank Horton Bernard Dwyer Dennis Hertel Pat Williams Don Edwards Marcy Kaptur Thomas Manton George Wortley Stewart McKinney Sid Morrison Charles Schumer Matt McHugh Robert Wise David Obev

William Richardson

Patricia Schroeder Peter Rodino Leon Panetta Alan Mollohan Norm Mineta Robert Torricelli Stephen Solarz Stan Lundine Doug Walgren Joseph Moakley Robert Lagomarsino Bill Alexander Barbara Kennely Nicholas Mayroules Gerald Kleczka Gerry Studds Robert Traxler Edward Feighan Paul Kanjorski Ken Grav Chester Atkins Barney Frank Marty Russo Al Swift Norm Dicks Joseph Early Lynn Martin Mel Levine Tom Lantos Austin Murphy Edward Madigan Martin Sabo Lindy Boggs Raymond McGrath

Sam Gejdenson
David Bonior
Butler Derrick
Dante Fascell
Edward Markey
Sala Burton
John Seiberling
Les Aspin
Ted Weiss
Jim Slattery
Silvio Conte