

35th British-Irish Council Summit, Northern Ireland Executive 11 June 2021

Communiqué

The British-Irish Council (BIC) held its 35th Summit meeting today hosted by the Northern Ireland Executive. The heads of delegation were welcomed by the Northern Ireland Executive First Minister, the Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA, and the deputy First Minister, Michelle O'Neill MLA. A full list of Ministerial participants is attached.

Priorities for Covid-19 Recovery and Latest Political Developments

Ministers discussed the impact of Covid-19 across Member Administrations, and reflected on approaches to recovery that were sustainable and which addressed the potentially long-lasting impacts. The Council discussed areas of coherence across Member Administrations in relation to recovery, and in planning for potential future impacts of Covid-19.

Ministers also discussed the latest political developments across their jurisdictions, and noted the recent elections held across a number of administrations. Ministers provided an update and engaged on a number of topics of mutual interest, including the EU-UK relationship.

Future of the British-Irish Council

Ministers took the opportunity to reflect on the period since the establishment of the British-Irish Council, and how the Council had evolved to adapt to a changed context. Ministers considered a number of potential developments which further develop the role of the Council to respond to new and emerging

trends and challenges, continuing its objective of positively strengthening links and relationships between the people of these islands.

BIC Secretariat

The Council noted the Secretariat's 2020/21 End of Year Report and welcomed the publication of the Council's Annual Report for 2020/21.

Next Summit Meeting

The Council noted that the next BIC Summit would be hosted by the Welsh Government.

BIC Secretariat

11 June 2021

List of Ministerial Delegates

	1
Northern Ireland Executive	
First Minister	Rt Hon Arlene Foster MLA
Deputy First Minister	Michelle O'Neill MLA
Minister of Agriculture, Environment and	Edwin Poots MLA
Rural Affairs	
Minister of Health	Robin Swann MLA
Minister for Infrastructure	Nichola Mallon MLA
Minister for the Economy	Diane Dodds MLA
Minister of Justice	Naomi Long MLA
Minister of Finance	Conor Murphy MLA
Minister for the Department for	Deirdre Hargey MLA
Communities	
Junior Minister in the Executive	Declan Kearney MLA
Junior Minister in the Executive	Gordon Lyons MLA
Irish Government	
An Taoiseach	Micheál Martin TD
An Tánaiste	Leo Varadkar TD
Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for	Simon Coveney TD
Defence	
Bololico	
UK Government	
	The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP
Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster	
Secretary of State for Northern Ireland	The Rt Hon Brandon Lewis MP
Welsh Government	
First Minister	Rt Hon Mark Drakeford MS
Scottish Government	
First Minister	Rt Hon Nicola Sturgeon MSP
Minister for Culture, Europe and	Jenny Gilruth MSP
International Development	
·	
Government of Jersey	
Chief Minister	Senator John Le Fondré
Minister for External Relations	Senator Ian Gorst
The state of the s	
Isle of Man Government	
Chief Minister	Hon Howard Quayle MHK
Minister for Education, Sport and Culture	Hon Alexander John Allinson MHK
with ster for Euroation, Sport and Guiture	HOH Alexander JOHN Allinson WITK
Government of Guernsey	
Chief Minister	Deputy Peter Ferbrache
Office Milliotol	Dopaty I ctor I civiacile