I enclose, for information, a copy of a letter from Mr Macmahon, Attorney-General's Department, to the Chief Crown Solicitor, relaying the decisions taken at the Secretary of State's meeting of 2 May (SSM (73) 47, item 3) on the Londonderry Inquests.

D C GOWDY 10 May 1973

Central Secretariat STORMONT CASTLE

Distribution:

```
PS to Secretary of State (3)
PS to Lord Windlesham (2)
PS to Mr David Howell MP (2)
PS to Mr William van Straubenzee MP (2)
PS to Mr Peter Mills MP (2)
PS to Mr Frank Cooper (2)
Sir David Holden
Sir Harold Black
Mr K P Bloomfield
Mr J T A Howard-Drake
Mr F A Rowley
Mr D G Allen
Mr J L L Imrie
Mr K J Jordan
Mr J Allan
Mr K D McDowall
Mr T M Roberts
Mr L S Duncan
Mr S C Jackson
Mr J B McAllister
Mr R J S Wilson
```

```
GOC (5)
Chief Constable
Deputy Chief Constable
All NI Permanent and Second
  Secretaries
Mr J H Parkes, Ministry of Home Affairs
Mr P J Woodfield
Mr W J Smith
Mr D J Trevelyan
Mr S S Bampton
Mr R N P Lewin
                     NIO, London
Mr J T Williams
Mr J Waterfield
Mr R J Seaman
Mr R C Stevens
Mr T C Hetherington, AG's Department,
Mr C Macmahon, AG's Department, Belfast
Mr A W Stephens, DS 10, MOD (14)
```

Mr D C Gowdy